10 Delicious Personal Pleasures

442244297_0b322689d1

I was going to call this post “10 Guilty Pleasures,” but I remembered that I don’t believe in guilt.  Guilt is merely shame directed inward, and I am not ashamed of who I am, what I do, or what I like.  So there, guilt-trippers!  Take that, moms everywhere!  So in changing the title, it kind of changed the focus of the post, as well.  Several of my friends post “gratitude” entries on their blogs, which I feel is fairly similar to what I’m about to share.  So without further ado:

10 DELICIOUS PERSONAL PLEASURES

  • I like listening to Soft or Lite Rock: I even have a Pandora station dedicated to the likes of John Denver, Air Supply, Barry Manilow, James Taylor, Barbara Streisand, Olivia Newton-John, ABBA, and others.  Even though I’m a dyed-in-the-wool fan of goth rock (Peter Murphy, Sisters of Mercy, The Cure…), I loves me some softer stuff.  I find the melodies and lyricism of the songs themselves, and the skill and talent of the songwriters to be deeply soothing.   There are days when I find that I need to kick back a bit, musically, and softer music does the trick every time.
  • I’m hooked on certain reality television shows:  It started way back when with the very first Real World on MTV. Then the shrill, manufactured drama of that show forced me to find other, less annoying programs.  From there, I found SYTYCD, Hell’s Kitchen, MasterChef, The Voice, and have been known to slip over and watch crap like Hardcore Pawn or Lizard Lick Towing.  Like a favorite snack food, I just can’t seem to stop!
  • iPad: I despise Apple’s customer service and ESPECIALLY their method of service, aka the Genius Bar (GB).  I ditched my iPod way back when for a less persnickety brand of portable audio player because every time I was forced to visit the GB, I was condescended to, or skipped over after waiting for what seemed like hours for my name to come up on their list, or they refused to repair/replace the unit, trying instead to upsell me on new stuff.  Great marketing, Apple.  Sell products you won’t stand behind, and then make it near impossible to get assistance.  However….I’m in LOVE with iPad.  I adore the portability of it, yet it can do so much with such a diminutive device.  I find the smart phones to be too small to be functional, so the iPad works perfectly in that regard.  It’s revived my love for electronics, of which I was a junkie from when the first games of PONG appeared.
  • Pizza: Need I say more?  Canadian bacon and pineapple.  That’s all I’ll admit to.
  • Dogs: I get myself into more trouble by attempting to cuddle at-work service dogs, or strangers’ dogs as they’re walking down the street…but it’s like I have a dog magnet instead of a heart, and I cannot stay away.  Once had a guy threaten to have me arrested for trying to get too close to his service dog.  I understand that they’re working, but they’re not robots, for pete’s sake!  My own dogs absolutely love that I’m affectionate toward them every day.  They even ask for more!
  • Office Supply stores:  They are my catnip, my heroin, my every day addiction.  I love the smell of them, love to thumb through racks of planners, and pens, and portfolios, and toner cartridges….it’s crack cocaine for the left side of my brain.  I have often fantasized living in one, though I think the employees would frown on it.
  • Haircuts: I used to approach them as a necessary evil, but now…  There’s nothing like hearing the snip-snip-snip of scissors close to my ear, or the pleasant buzz of clippers sliding along my scalp.  The feel of someone else’s fingers massaging my scalp as warm water cascades over my head.  What a tremendous sensuous pleasure.  Hmmm…I think I need to go get one RIGHT NOW.
  • Horror Films: From the day I was old enough to sneak into theaters to see films like The Exorcist, Amityville Horror, or The Hills Have Eyes, I have been completely hooked.  Something about that adrenaline rush of fear something jumps out at the characters.  Over the years, I have developed an affinity for the more creative ones (Blair Witch Project, Paranormal Activity, et al.) and enjoy even the imported ones.  China is coming out with some incredibly horrifying films this past decade.  Mmmmm-mmmmm good.
  • Personal Space: I love “home.”  I go to work each day with my only goal of making it home at the end of it.  It’s my docking station, my battery recharger, and my island away from the craziness of the world.  As an introvert, probably the most important resource I could have.
  • Sleep: I require 8 hours a night.  Not less…though more certainly doesn’t hurt.  I love to dream and look forward to them every night.  Winter sleep is the best of all.  I’m like a bear in that way.  I would not mind hibernating during the cold months (and do so as often as possible).  The only drawback is that eventually I must awaken and face the day.  But every day ends at night, and then?  MORE SLEEP!
2 thoughts on “10 Delicious Personal Pleasures

  1. I share so many of your pleasures! Not all of them, of course, but so many! I call Office Max and Staples my “toy store.” And reality shows! I love the ones where they make the family go away, then they redecorate their house, and when the family comes back, the mom always cries.

Leave a piece of your soul!

